Galveston County Elected Officials

2022 Republican Officials – State and Federal

County-Judge-Mark Henry

Galveston County Judge
Galveston County Judge Mark Henry
(409) 766-2244

Judge Henry is the father of five children. Adults Austin, Taylor, Jessica, and two and a half year old twin girls, Brinkley and Hartley. He is a commercial pilot, motorcycle rider, and family man. When he’s not being County Judge or running one of his businesses, Judge Henry prefers being home with his twin girls and wife Amy.

Darrell Apffel Commissioner, Precinct 1

Commissioner, Precinct 1
Galveston County Commissioner Darrell Apffel
(409) 770-5474

Darrell A. Apffel was born on April 16, 1963 in Galveston, Texas to Ervin A. Apffel, Jr. and Christine Matthews Apffel.  He was raised in Galveston County with his siblings, Ervin A. “Trey” Apffel, III., Jeannie Apffel Guarino, Pam Apffel Del Papa, Pat Apffel Whittington, and Christi Apffel Landry.

Joe Giusti Commissioner Precinct 2Commissioner, Precinct 2
Galveston County Commissioner Joe Giusti
(409) 770-5475

Stephen Holmes Commissioner Precinct 3Commissioner, Precinct 3
Galveston County Commissioner Stephen Holmes
(409) 770-5806

Commissioner Holmes has been an advocate for improving the quality of life for Precinct Three through expanded access to healthcare, park improvements, community centers and senior citizen programs.  He has become a driving force in serving not only his precinct, but also his all of Galveston County.

Commissioner Robin ArmstrongCommissioner, Precinct 4
Galveston County Commissioner Dr. Robin Armstrong

Robin Armstrong, MD, Finance Commission of Texas, Vice Chair Southern Region RNC, Texas Republican National Committeeman.

District Clerk John KinardDistrict Clerk
John Kinard
(409) 766-2424

John Kinard has over three decades of experience in the Justice System as a police officer, attorney, FBI Agent and Galveston County District Clerk. He has an accounting degree from the, University of Texas at Arlington and a law degree from SMU Law School. John has been a member of the Texas State Bar since 1982 and is also a member of the Galveston County Bar.

John has been married to his wife Chris for 31 years. They have three children and one grandson who all live in Galveston County.

Dwight Sullivan County ClerkCounty Clerk
Dwight D. Sullivan
(409) 766-2200

Dwight Sullivan was elected to the position of Galveston County Clerk in 2010 and took office in 2011. Prior to his election, he served as the Assistant County Treasurer for Galveston County for over 9 years. Dwight lives in League City with his wife Misty and their four children; Chloe, Alexis, Veronica and Andrew.

Sheriff Henry TrochessetCounty Sheriff
Henry Trochesset
(409) 766-2301

Henry was born in Galveston, Texas and is a lifelong resident of Galveston County. He began his law enforcement career with the Galveston County Sheriff’s Office in 1983.  While working as a jailer, Henry attended the Police Academy at night to earn his Peace Officers Certification. Henry held the ranks of Sergeant, Lieutenant, Captain and Major over multiple divisions in the Sheriff’s Office before being elected Sheriff.

County Treasurer Hank DugieCounty Treasurer
Hank Dugie

Mission Statement: To keep an account of receipts and expenditures of all money that the Treasurer receives by virtue of the office and all debts due to and owed by the County.  The County Treasurer and the treasurer’s staff also maintains accurate detailed accounts of all transactions of the treasurer’s office. The County Treasurer also invests county funds, immediately to meet monthly obligations.

District Attorney Jack RoadyDistrict Attorney
Jack Roady, Criminal District Attorney
(409) 766-2355

Jack Roady was first elected Galveston County Criminal District Attorney in 2010, and was re-elected to a second four-year term in 2014.  Before that, Jack served as a trial and appellate prosecutor with the Harris County District Attorney’s Office in Houston for ten years.

Jack has served on the board of directors for the Texas District & County Attorneys Association and is an appointed member of the Texas Criminal Justice Integrity Unit.  In 2016, he was named Prosecutor of the Year by the State Bar of Texas Criminal Justice Section.

Cheryl Johnson Tax Accessory-CollectorTax Accessor-Collector
Cheryl E. Johnson Tax Accessor-Collector
(409) 766-2260

Cheryl Johnson has served as Galveston County “Cut Tax” Assessor/Collector with passion and commitment, participating in efforts to bring about meaningful property tax relief over the last 22 years. She stood beside Americans for Prosperity Texas Director, Peggy Venable, in opposition to taxpayer funded lobbying that involved the powerful, nearly untouchable Texas Association of Counties as well as worked to change many Texas laws that benefit Texas property owners and voters.

The Honorable Gregory RikardJustice of the Peace, Precinct 1 (previously JP Precincts 5 & 7)
The Honorable Gregory Rikard
(281) 316-8804

The Honorable D. Blake ApffelJustice of the Peace, Precinct 2 (previously JP Precincts 1 & 4)
The Honorable D. Blake Apffel
Galveston (409) 766-2250
Santa Fe (409) 770-5484

The Honorable Billy A. Williams Jr.Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3 (previously JP Precincts 2, 3, & 6)
The Honorable Billy A. Williams Jr.
(409) 770-5455

The Honorable Kathleen McCumberJustice of the Peace, Precinct 4 (previously JP Precincts 8-1 & 8-2)
The Honorable Kathleen McCumber
281) 316-8716

The Honorable Derrick RoseConstable Precinct 3
The Honorable Derrick Rose
Galveston (409) 770-5172
La Marque (409) 765-2926
Crystal Beach (409) 765-2980

The Honorable Justin WestConstable Precinct 4, League City
The Honorable Justin West
(281) 316-8711